The John Allwright Fellowship (JAF) Program

The John Allwright Fellowship (JAF) provides scientists from partner countries currently or recently involved in ACIAR research projects with the opportunity to obtain postgraduate qualifications at Australian tertiary institutions. The primary aim of the Fellowship is to enhance research capacity in ACIAR’s partner country institutions. The JAF provides PhD and Masters scholarships to agricultural researchers, administered through the Australia Awards system. Applicants must be currently or recently working with an ACIAR project. An awardee’s postgraduate studies must form a discrete topic related to, but not part of, an ACIAR research project. Ideally, the study program will allow the awardee to remain actively involved in the project research work throughout their studies. ACIAR will support coursework postgraduate degrees in certain circumstances.
Application deadline: April 30, 2020
For more information:

TWAS-CSIR Fellowship Programmes
TWAS and the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) of India are offering fellowships to young scholars from developing countries (other than India) who wish to pursue a PhD or postdoctoral research at the laboratories and institutes of the CSIR.

  1. Postgraduate Fellowships: The Postgraduate Fellowships to pursue research toward a PhD are tenable for a maximum period of four years. Sandwich fellowships (for applicants registered for a PhD degree in their home country) may be granted for a minimum of period of six months and a maximum one of three years.
    Application deadline
    : 11 May 2020
    For more information:
  2. Postdoctoral Fellowships: The Postdoctoral Fellowships are tenable for a minimum period of six months to a maximum period of twelve months. The applicants must be a maximum age of 45 years on 31 December of the application year, and must be regularly employed in a developing country and hold a research assignment.
    Application deadline: 11 May 2020
    For more information:

OWSD Fellowships
The Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD) is an international organization founded in 1987 that provides research training, career development and networking opportunities for women scientists throughout the developing world at different stages in their careers.

  1. OWSD PhD fellowships: OWSD is offering fellowships to women scientists from Science and Technology Lagging Countries to pursue a PhD in a scientific field, including Agricultural Sciences, at a host institute in another developing country in the Global South. Candidates can choose between two study schemes: a full-time fellowship (maximum 4 years) ,where the research is undertaken entirely at a host institute in another developing country; or a sandwich fellowship, where the candidate is a registered PhD student in her home country and undertakes part of her studies at a host institute in another developing country (a minimum of 1 and a maximum of 3 research visits at the host institute).
    Application deadline:  31 March 2020
  2. OWSD Early Career Fellowship: OWSD is offering fellowships to women who have completed their PhDs in a eligible STEM field, including Agricultural Sciences, and are employed at an academic or scientific research institute in one of the science and technology lagging country. The fellowship is for two years and provides up to USD 50,000 to lead a research project. It does not provide for the fellow’s salary which must be guaranteed by the fellow’s institution.
    Application deadline: 15 April 


Add new comment

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.